The Vital Role of Scientist and Technologists

The issue that interested me the most was about the Yolanda issue. I was surprised to hear that we had the fastest recovery from this kind of calamity. Imagine two weeks after the typhoon almost all affected areas were fixed! It was such a miracle! 🙂 (Well, of course exaggeration implied, but the fact that they did address this issue made it interesting.)

I could still remember my Christmas last year. My family and I went to Bohol then Cebu, after a certain amount of days. Every time I watch the shows in television, (when I mean every time, there’s no exaggeration added to that), never once did this specific advertisement failed to show up. It was the advertisement featuring a group of Filipino singers singing the song “The Prayer”, along with a choir composed of children from Bohol (if I’m not mistaken). The moment I saw this advertisement, I was filled with melancholy and was deeply burdened. I thought that this might take more than a year to fix (because that’s how we Filipinos usually take time to fix our national problems). Then to my surprise, when listening to the SONA, this problem was addressed with such alacrity.

Alongside with this issue, what interested me was when the poverty rate dropped by 3% in a span of a year. I was hopeful to hear this, for the 3% consisted of around 2.5 million Filipinos. Well, even though we say that 3% is still quite small, it was very relieving to hear that it was a decrease than an increase. 

Moving on. Most, if not all, issues tackled during the SONA were very hopeful and positive issues. So I’m assuming that Philippines is rising than falling. I can slightly agree to this, but not fully. You see, we live in a world called the flatworld. How would you know if a country is rich or powerful? Well, aside from being economically stable, the technology of a country must be advanced (and we can only attain that by having scientists and technologists who are skilled at critical thinking). I can honestly say that Philippines doesn’t really have updated technology. Yeah, we could say that we can import products that have high tech features, but the fact that we still have brown-outs, well, still proves us that we’re so low tech. Quoting from what President Aquino said,

“Hindi ito kasingsimple ng pagpunta sa tindahan at pagsabing, ‘Pabili nga po ng 600 megawatt generator, at paki-install na rin bukas.’”

If we were a high tech country or a country with a lot of great thinkers (scientist and technologists, specifically), we could’ve been able to think of multiple ways to conserve energy by using only small amounts of it. By that, even people who belong to the low-class can afford it without sweat.

So to sum this all up, I can say that economically, we’re catching up, but we’re not that wealthy enough to have the budget for energy or the equipments to buy things regarding this issue. Though it’s not really the budget that we need for energy. What we really need are scientists and technologists who can find ways to address this problem in a simpler manner, by using our resources to the fullest extent. 

(Image source: http://scienceillustrated.com.au/blog/wp-content/uploads/2010/12/brain.jpg)

Leave a Reply

